USA World Cup 2022 soccer fixtures: Dates, kick-off times and latest team news for Qatar



After failing to qualify for Russia 2018, the USA are now back for the 2022 World Cup with a vengeance, with their second game of the tournament against England on Friday.

They started their campaign with a 1-1 draw with Wales, Gareth Bale cancelling out Timothy Weah’s 36th-minute opener.

US coach Gregg Berhalter said afterwards that Wales’ switch to a more direct style after half-time was difficult for his side to contain. “They have a big team and they made it very difficult. They stepped up the pressure,” he said. “But I thought the guys handled it well. We kept it up to the end, it was a hard-fought game and we left everything out there.”

Next up is Gareth Southgate’s England, coming the day after Thanks Giving celebrations in America and around the world.

There will be a strong Premier League contingent in the US side, with Chelsea’s Christian Pulisic and Arsenal goalkeeper Matt Turner joined by the Fulham duo of Antonee Robinson and Tim Ream.

Leeds’ Brenden Aaronson and Tyler Adams join them in the set-up, with the latter hoping to skipper the side to a famous win on Friday.

“It would mean a lot,” the 23-year-old captain said as the US look to maintain their unbeaten World Cup record against England, which includes a famous 1-0 win in 1950 and 1-1 draw 60 years later.

Group stage fixtures

USA 1 Wales 1, Monday November 21

England vs USA: Friday November 25, 7pm (GMT), 10pm local time, 2pm (ET), 1pm (CT) and 11am (PT) (Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor)

Iran vs USA: Tuesday November 29, 7pm (GMT), 10pm local time, 2pm (ET), 1pm (CT) and 11am (PT) (Al Thumama Stadium, Doha)

Latest USA news from Qatar

United States boss Gregg Berhalter called England a “formidable opponent” and praised Gareth Southgate to the hilt – despite being ignoring by the England manager ahead of Friday’s World Cup clash.

An impressive 6-2 victory against Iran in Monday’s Group B opener means Southgate’s men will seal progress to the last 16 with a match to spare if they beat the US in Al Khor.

The States head into Friday’s Al Bayt Stadium encounter looking to build on their 1-1 draw with Wales but Berhalter is wary of the threat posed by England, who he called a “scary” prospect in the build-up.

“He’s done a great job with his team. They got off to a great start and they’re a formidable opponent. It’s going to be a difficult game for us.”

The United States have defied Fifa’s edict to avoid contentious issues outside football at the World Cup finals and shown solidarity with the gay community, criminalised in Qatar, by redesigning their federation crest in rainbow colours at their training base.

The stance on gay rights, at odds with Fifa’s order to squads to “focus on the football” was announced by head coach Gregg Berhalter. The crest is in a media briefing room at the team’s training ground, Al Gharafa stadium in north Doha.

The question of how to show solidarity in Qatar with marginalised groups, especially LGBT, has been a thorny issue for teams ahead of the tournament in a country where homosexuality is illegal. 

Admin